Reprocessing Methods for Integration Workflows
When messages are held in the Message Container because they are failed or pending, you can choose to either reprocess or purge them before resuming the workflow. This article is intended to provide guidance to the possible user journey scenarios for how OneTrust customers might set up and manage the manual or automatic reprocessing methods for failed messages.
Resuming vs. Deactivating Workflows
Once you have addressed halting errors in the logs, OneTrust recommends to resume the workflow instead of deactivating and reactivating.
Deactivation is recommended when a workflow is experiencing such persistent configuration issues where deactivation is necessary for more deliberate troubleshooting.
For more information on how to access integration logs and status descriptions, see Using Integration Logs.
For more information on setting up notification preferences for failed workflows, see Managing Notifications for Failed Integrations.
For more information on retrying failed actions, retry intervals, and halting errors, see Integrations: Halting and Errors.
To enable the Message Container
Default Procedure Options
1. Manual Reprocessing
You can enable the workflow to require a manual reprocess or purge of messages from the Message Container. This procedure option is also the default selection for any workflows created via a Gallery Wizard.
-
In the default procedure field, select Manually reprocess when workflow is resumed.
-
Save or activate the workflow to enact your changes.
2. Automatic Reprocessing
You can enable the workflow to automatically reprocess messages from the Message Container when it self-heals from a Halted state to an Active state. If a workflow is in a Halted state, OneTrust will periodically ping the workflow to check if it runs successfully. If the workflow is successful for three continuous messages, it will move from the Halted state back to an Active state.
-
In the default procedure field, select Automatically reprocess when workflow self-heals.
-
Save or activate the workflow to enact your changes.
About Long-Term Automatic Reprocessing
When 5 out of 10 messages fail, the workflow will halt and the admin is alerted via email. All failed and pending messages are preserved for re-processing in the Message Container (if enabled for the workflow).
In app-prod environments, when a failed message is received, we will attempt re-processing once every 15 minutes while the workflow is active. The following outcomes can result from this action:
-
Messages that have been attempted 15 times will be dropped from the Message Container and marked as expired.
-
For all other non-production environments, the scheduled frequency is 5 minutes and up to 5 attempts.
-
When workflows move from halted to an active state, failed and pending messages stored will be re-attempted.
To manage reprocessing methods
You can opt to reprocess or purge messages for workflows that are held in a halted state.
To reprocess individual messages
You can reprocess a single message from the failed logs to restart the integration. If you attempt to reprocess a queued message, the initial message can still process, which might produce duplicate results.
Reprocessing is not supported for workflows in the following statuses:
-
Success
-
Duplicate
Scenario 1: Save Messages in Queue
-
On the Integrations menu, click Integrations. The Integrations screen appears.
-
Click on the name of an existing integration. The Integration Builder screen appears.
-
Navigate to the Details tab.
-
Enable the Enable Hold and Reprocess Message when Workflow Halted setting. The Email Error Alerts and Default procedure for failed messages settings will appear.
-
Provide an email for alerts.
-
Change the default procedure for failed message to either:
-
Manually reprocess when workflow is resumed
-
Automatically reprocess when workflow self-heals
-
-
Click the Save button.
-
Move the workflow into a Halted state. Messages will save to Message Container whenever a message fails, and the designated user should receive the alert email.
-
On the Integration Builder screen of a halted workflow, click the Needs Attention icon to reveal the Needs Attention popover.
-
Click the View Details button. The Message Container Details modal appears.
-
Here you can select to reprocess or purge the messages. This option can also be accessed from the Context Menu of the Integration Builder screen as you resume the workflow.
Note:Reprocessing messages from the Message Container can take time, and you may not see immediate progress. To avoid message loss do not deactivate a workflow. Instead, use the methods described in step 11 instead.
Scenario 2: Select Purge Option
-
On the Integrations menu, click Integrations. The Integrations screen appears.
-
Click on the name of an integration. The Integration Builder screen appears.
-
Navigate to the Details tab.
-
Enable the Enable Message Container setting.
-
Provide an email for alerts.
-
Change the default procedure for failed message to either:
-
Manually reprocess when workflow is resumed
-
Automatically reprocess when workflow self-heals
-
-
Click the Save button.
-
Whenever the workflow next moves into a halted state, the designated user should receive the alert email.
-
On the Integration Builder screen of a halted workflow, click the Needs Attention icon to reveal the Needs Attention popover.
-
Click the View Details button. The Message Container Details modal appears.
-
Select Purge Messages. The warning message will be erased. When the workflow is resumed, the module will not ask to reprocess or purge as the messages are not reprocessed.
Scenario 3: Do Not Save Messages in Queue
-
On the Integrations menu, click Integrations. The Integrations screen appears.
-
Click on the name of an integration. The Integration Builder screen appears.
-
Navigate to the Details tab.
-
Disable the Enable Message Container setting.
-
Click the Save button.
-
When the workflow halts, the Needs Attention popover warning should not appear.
-
Resume the workflow.
-
The workflow will resume. Messages will not automatically reprocess but individual failed messages can be manually retried. For more information, see To reprocess individual messages.