Deleting Users from the Platform

Internal Site admins within the root organization can delete users from the platform while selecting whether to maintain or anonymize the user’s first and last name for audit purposes. When you delete a user, the user’s relationship to assigned objects will be preserved throughout the platform. However, the user will no longer have access to these objects and their access to their OneTrust account will also be revoked. In addition, the user will only appear in the Deleted Users list.

Note:

Only Internal Site admins within the root organization can delete a user from the platform. OneTrust Consultants are generally External users and cannot perform this action within your account. You can reference the Users screen in Global Settings to identify whether a user is internal or external. (External) will appear alongside the user's name if they were created as an external user in the platform.

Attention:

Deleting a user is a permanent action that cannot be undone. If you anticipate that the user will require access to their OneTrust account in the future, OneTrust recommends deactivating the user rather than deleting.

To delete a user

When deleting a user, you will select whether to maintain or anonymize the user's first and last name within the platform. The selected action is permanent and cannot be changed once the action is confirmed. However, regardless of the action you select, the user's email address will be anonymized within the platform. For example, John Doe's email address "Jdoe@email.com" will be changed to "otuser@16aa8c6d-879d-4401-ba3f-6711ebab6d6e.com".

Note:

The following users cannot be deleted:

  • Users who are the default approver for any organization

  • Users who are the only remaining Site admin within the root organization

You can't deactivate or delete a user if they are assigned as an SSO notification recipient. Remove that assignment before you try again. If the user is not listed as an SSO notification recipient in the current organization, check their assignments in other organizations.

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Users. The Users screen appears.

  3. Click the link in the Name column for the user you want to edit. The User information tab on the Users screen appears.


  4. Click the Delete button. The Delete user modal appears.


  5. In the Select how this user will be represented in the system field, select one of the following options:

    Option

    Description

    Show first and last name, such as “Jane Smith (deleted)”

    Select this action to keep the first and last name of the user when referencing the user's relationship to assigned objects and viewing the user on the Deleted Users list.

    Anonymize name, such as “otuser02d34 (deleted)”

    Select this action to anonymize the user's name when referencing the user's relationship to assigned objects and viewing the user on the Deleted Users list.

    CAUTION:

    Once the user's information is anonymized, the user's name and email address can no longer be retrieved from the platform or from the database.

  6. Click the Delete button.

To access the Deleted Users list

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Users.

    The Users screen appears.

  3. In the View field, selected Deleted.
    The list of deleted users appears.

    Field
    Description
    Name

    Name of the user who was deleted. The name that appears on the Deleted Users list will be determined by the selected action taken when the user record was deleted.

    For example, when the user Sally Paulson was deleted from the platform, the Show first and last name, such as “Jane Smith (deleted)” option was selected. This is why the user's first and last name are still visible within the platform.

    On the other hand, when the user Penn Smith was deleted from the platform, the Anonymize name, such as “otuser02d34 (deleted)” action was selected. This is why the user's name no longer appears within the platform.

    Managed by

    Indicates the organization with which the user was previously associated.

    Internal/External

    Indicates whether the deleted user was an internal or external user.

    Deleted by

    Name of the user who deleted the user record.

    Deleted date

    Date and time that the user record was deleted from the platform.

To export the list of deleted users

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Users. The Users screen appears.

  3. In the View field, select Deleted. The list of deleted users appears.

  4. Click the Export icon. The Export data modal appears.


  5. Click the Export data button. The Export user report modal appears.


  6. Select the User List option.
  7. Click the Export button. A notification will appear on the Notifications icon in the Global Header when the report is ready to download.
  8. Click the Notifications icon and select the Users Deleted Export. The file will download to your local system.