Deactivating and Activating Users

You can deactivate user profiles and, if necessary, reactivate them using the following procedures to account for organizational changes.

Things to Know

When a user is deactivated in the OneTrust Platform, certain features and configurations may be impacted. Consider the following when deactivating a user:

  • Aside from the Users list screen in Global Settings, you cannot filter any other lists in the platform by deactivated users. In other words, you will not be able to filter or report on a deactivated user’s previous assignments.

  • Before deactivating a user with many assignments, export a report as historical record as user assignments appear blank in reporting when a user is deactivated.

  • Review and update any automation rules that assign the deactivated user as a respondent or approver. These rules will not function correctly if they reference inactive users.

  • If the user you plan to deactivate was assigned as a default approver in any workflow, you will need to update that assignment to an active user before deactivating to ensure no interruption in workflows.

To deactivate a user

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Users. The Users screen appears.

  3. Click the link in the Name column for the user you want to deactivate. The User information tab on the Users screen appears.

  4. Click the Deactivate button. The Deactivate user modal appears.
    Note:

    You cannot deactivate a user who is a default approver for an organization. Default approvers for each organization are listed on the Organizations screen.



  5. Click the Deactivate button.

To activate a user

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Users.

    The Users screen appears.

  3. In the View field, select Inactive.
    The Users screen updates and displays only inactive users.

  4. Click the link in the Name column for the user you want to activate.

    The User information tab on the Users screen appears.

  5. Click the Activate button.
    Note:

    For external users, the External User Expiration Date (Optional) field will also appear on the modal. You can enter the date on which an external user's access to the platform should automatically expire, if necessary.

    The Activate user modal appears.

  6. Click the Activate button.
    Note:

    You can also activate a user by selecting Activate user on the Context menu for the respective user on the Users screen.

To deactivate users in bulk

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Users. The Users screen appears.

  3. Select the check boxes corresponding to the users that you want to deactivate.
  4. Click the Context Menu icon in the bulk actions toolbar and select Deactivate.
  5. The Deactivate users modal appears.


  6. Click the Deactivate users button.

To activate users in bulk

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Users. The Users screen appears.

  3. Select the check boxes corresponding to the users that you want to activate.
  4. On the bulk actions toolbar, click the Activate button.
  5. The Activate users modal appears.


  6. Click the Activate users button.