Viewing Tasks in the OneTrust Platform
You can access tasks in which you are the assignee or the collaborator within the Assigned Actions widget on the OneTrust platform homepage or the Tasks section of the Alert Center. By default, users land on the homepage once they log into the OneTrust platform. To navigate directly to the Tasks section of the Alert Center, click the Tasks icon in the Global Header.
Viewing Tasks on the Homepage
The Assigned Actions widget includes a searchable list of assigned actions and tasks assigned to the logged-in user, associated deadlines, and links that navigate the user to where actions and tasks can be completed. There are two different types of items that appear in this section: assigned actions, which require the action to be completed within the source object, and tasks, which can be marked as completed outside of the source object.
For assigned actions, clicking the link in the Name column will redirect you to the source record within the respective product. For tasks, clicking the link will open the Task Details pane, where you can review additional details about the task.
For more information, see the Assigned Actions section in the Using the OneTrust Platform Homepage article.
Viewing Tasks in the Alert Center
You can access a list of assigned tasks by selecting Tasks on the Alert Center menu. The All Tasks screen will appear with a list of tasks in which you are either an assignee or collaborator. You can use the Search field to search for tasks by name or description, allowing you to enter keywords to easily locate specific tasks to review. You can also filter tasks by assignee, task status, source object, and module using the Filter icon. The following fields are available by default on the All Tasks screen for each task.
- Field
- Description
- Task Name
-
Name of the task as defined within the respective product.
- Assignee
-
Name of the user to which the task is assigned.
- Priority
-
Priority level that indicates the importance of the task.
- Deadline
-
Date by which the task should be completed.
Column Selector
You can further customize the columns that appear in the Tasks section of the Alert Center by clicking the Column Selector icon. On the Column Selector modal, you can use the arrows to add or remove columns as well as adjust the order in which the columns appear based on your preference. Then click the Apply button to view your changes.
Task Details Pane
You can view additional details on a task by clicking the link in the Task Name column for the task you want to view. The Task Details pane appears with additional details, such as assigned collaborators, task description, and more. In addition, you can easily navigate back to the source record to which the task belongs by clicking the View Source link.
Alternatively, the Task Details pane can be accessed by clicking the Context Menu icon and selecting View Details.
Using System Task Views
By default, tasks will display in the order that they were received but can be sorted by ascending or descending order by clicking the column headers. In addition, you can specify which tasks should appear by clicking All Tasks and selecting a specific task view. System task views are available for all users by default and include the following options:
- Field
- Description
- Past Due Tasks
-
Displays tasks with a deadline date that is prior to the current date.
- Tasks Due within 7 Days
-
Displays tasks with a deadline date within the next seven days.
- Collaborative Tasks
-
Displays tasks in which the user is listed as a collaborator.
- Associated Tasks
-
Displays all tasks in which the user is either listed as the assignee or collaborator.
- Assigned Tasks
-
Displays all tasks in which the user is listed as the assignee.
Creating Custom Task Views
You can also create custom task views to configure and organize the task details most relevant to you, save your customizations for future use, and share these custom views with other users.
To create a custom task view
-
Navigate to the Tasks section of the Alert Center.
-
Customize the details that you want to appear in your custom view.
-
Click All Tasks and click the Save As button. The Create View modal appears.
- Field
- Description
- View Name
-
Enter a name for the custom view.
- Make this View Public
-
Enable this setting if you want to make the custom view available for other users to use. Keep this setting disabled if you want to keep the view private.
-
Complete the fields, as necessary.
-
Click the Create View button. Your custom view will appear below the system default views.
To manage custom task views
On the Manage Views modal, you can select which view you want to appear by default when you navigate to the Tasks section of the Alert Center. On this modal, you can also rename custom views, adjust the visibility of the view, and delete the view, as needed.
-
Navigate to the Tasks section of the Alert Center.
-
Click All Tasks and click the Manage Views button. The Manage Views modal appears.
- Field
- Description
- My Default View
-
Select the view that you want to appear by default when you navigate to the Tasks section of the Alert Center.
- View Name
-
Name of the custom view.
If you want to rename the view, enter a new name in this field and click the Update button.
- Make this View Public
-
Visibility of the custom view.
Enable this setting if you want to make the custom view available for other users to use. Disable this setting if you want to keep the view private.
- Filters
-
Indicates the filters applied for the custom view.
- Columns
-
Indicates the columns selected for the custom view.
- Delete View
-
Click this button if you want to delete the custom view.
-
Modify the fields, as necessary.
-
Click the Save button.
Managing Tasks in the Alert Center
You can modify task details, such as the assignee, collaborators, and more, directly within the Alert Center. Changes made to tasks within the Alert Center will also display within the respective product in which the task originated.
To modify task details
-
Navigate to the Tasks section of the Alert Center.
-
On the All Tasks screen, click the task for which you want to view additional details. The Task Details pane appears.
Note:Alternatively, you can hover over the task, click the Context Menu icon
that appears, and select View Details.
-
Modify the task details by hovering over the Task Details fields, and clicking the Edit icon that appears. Once complete, click the Save button.
- Field
- Description
- Task name
-
Name of the task as defined within the respective product.
- Description
-
Description of the task as defined within the respective product.
- Mark task as required
-
Indicates whether the task must be completed before moving to another stage.
- Assignee
-
Name of the user to which the task is assigned.
- Priority
-
Priority level that indicates the importance of the task.
- Task collaborators
-
Name of the user(s) and/or user group(s) added as collaborators for the task.
- Deadline
-
Date by which the task should be completed.
-
In the Attachments field, click the Upload File button to add attachments to the task, as needed. The File Explorer will appear where you can select the necessary files.
-
In the Comments field, enter comments for the task, as needed. Click the Add button when complete.
To mark a task as complete
-
Navigate to the Tasks section of the Alert Center.
-
On the All Tasks screen, click the task that you want to mark as complete. The Task Details pane appears.
-
Click the Mark as Complete button. The task is placed in Closed status.
Note:Alternatively, you can hover over the task, click the Context Menu icon
that appears, and select Mark as Complete.
To reopen a task
-
Navigate to the Tasks section of the Alert Center.
-
On the All Tasks screen, click the task that you want to reopen. The Task Details pane appears.
-
Click the Reopen Task button. The task is reopened.
Note:Alternatively, you can hover over the task, click the Context Menu icon
that appears, and select Reopen Task.