Managing Risks in an Assessment
Once an assessment has been submitted by a respondent, the approver can identify potential risks on the assessment. The approver can then send the Risk Owner a recommendation on how to rectify and minimize the risk. For more information, see Flagging Risks on an Assessment.
Invited Users have the ability to reassign risk owners when editing risks in the under-review stage of the assessment workflow when the Allow Invited Users to Re-assign Risk Owner setting is enabled in Global Settings. If the approver decides to treat the risk, they will create a treatment plan that includes completing specific tasks, assigning a risk owner, and adding controls to mitigate the risk. The approver can add additional owners as needed and the owners will receive a notification.
Individual risk scores may differ from the aggregate risk score of an assessment.
This is because an individual risk may appear as high, but in an assessment with multiple risks created, the aggregate score of those risks and the methodology used (sum, average, etc.) can result in different scores. This results in the assessment aggregate risk score showing as one level while the individual risk shows another score. This is expected behavior.
For example, an assessment has three individual risks with a score of low, medium, and high. However, the residual risk score of the assessment is high due to the combined risk scores and scoring methodology.
Viewing Assessments within IT Risk Management
There are multiple Assessments screens in OneTrust. Which assessments appear depends on the template type used and the OneTrust products/subscriptions your organization has access to. As a result, not all assessments appear within IT Risk Management. For example, assessments based on primary records (assets, entities, vendors) will not appear.
Only active assessments associated with IT Risk Management are listed, including those where the template was created in that product or the assessment was launched from it. To view all assessments in the application, go to . If you do not have access to PIA & DPIA Automation, contact OneTrust Support about subscriptions that include it.
You can assign the Assessment Details View permission to custom roles to let users access the assessments assigned to them, regardless of where the assessment was created. This permission is located in the Assessments permission group.
To review an assessment risk
To submit a treatment plan
After reviewing the risk, the risk owner can submit the risk treatment plan. The treatment status is updated using the system workflow and the risk now becomes view only for the risk owner. At this point, the system deadline and reminder field will begin evaluating. The deadline will be for the risk approver to approve the treatment plan or send it back.
To request an exception
After reviewing the risk, the risk owner can request an exception. This action closes the risk in the chosen state and it will not be mitigated further. The risk approver can grant the exception or send the risk back to the risk owner. Sending the plan back to the risk owner will reset the treatment status to In Progress.
To approve a treatment plan or grant an exception
Only the risk approver can approve a treatment plan or grant an exception.
To send back a risk
Only the risk approver can send a risk back for further review.
- Open a risk in the Flag Risks pane.
- Click the Send Back button. This notifies the Risk Owner that the treatment plan or exception has been declined and requires further review.
To add tasks to an assessment risk
The View risk tasks and Create risk tasks permissions alone does not grant access to the task list on risk records. To view the task list, the user must be one of the following:
-
Risk owner
-
Risk approver
-
Risk manager
-
A user with at least one task assigned on that risk