Flagging Risks on an Assessment
The risk approver can flag risks and propose remediation steps on a completed assessment.
Invited Users have the ability to reassign risk owners when flagging risks on an assessment in the under-review stage of the assessment workflow when the Allow Invited Users to Re-assign Risk Owner setting is enabled in Global Settings.
Viewing Active Assessments in IT & Security Risk Management
There is more than one Assessments screen in the OneTrust application. Different assessments appear in different product areas of the application due to:
-
The type of template used to create the assessments
-
The type of OneTrust subscription purchased, which gives access to different data available across the application
It follows that not all assessments will appear in the IT & Security Risk Management Assessments screen. Assessments based on primary records (i.e. assets, entities, vendors, etc.) will not appear. Only active assessments associated with IT & Security Risk Management will be listed here if any of the following are true:
-
The assessment template was created in IT & Security Risk Management.
-
The assessment was launched from IT & Security Risk Management.
To view all assessments available in the application, navigate to the PIA & DPIA Automation menu, then select . If you do not have access to PIA & DPIA Automation, contact customer support to learn about subscriptions that include access to this product.
To flag risks on an assessment
Users assigned as an assessment Approver, or users with the Create risks permission, can flag risks within an assessment. However, these users cannot access or view the associated risk record unless they have the appropriate risk-viewing permissions.
Flag Risk Screen Reference
- Field
- Description
- Select a Risk From the LibraryCreate New Risk
-
Select an existing risk from the library or create a new risk.
- Inherent Risk Level
-
Select the level of risk you want to flag.
Note:If you have risk heatmaps enabled, you will be able to choose the level of risk based on the heatmap set up for your organization.
If you do not use risk heatmaps, the available options will be low, medium, high, and very high.
- Risk Name
-
Enter the name of the risk.
- Threat
-
Select the threat(s) the risk presents.
- Vulnerability
-
Select the vulnerability category the risk falls into.
- Category
-
Select the associated category the risk falls under.
- Risk Owner(s)
-
Select the name(s) responsible for remedying the risk.
- Risk Approver(s)
-
Select the name(s) responsible for approving the risk.
- Deadline
-
Select a deadline by which the risk must be resolved.
- Reminder
-
Enter the number of days before the deadline which the respondent(s) should be reminded to complete the risk assessment.
- Description
-
Enter a description of the risk and why it has been flagged.
- Treatment Plan
-
Enter a plan to control, mitigate, and/or resolve the risk.
Understanding risk owner and approver assignments
When you launch a risk assessment, OneTrust assigns the Risk Owner and Risk Approver based on whether a primary record is identified and whether the configured user type attributes contain values.
-
If no primary record is identified, the Risk Owner defaults to the Current Assessment Respondent and the Risk Approver defaults to the Current Assessment Approver upon submission of the risk assessment. If the Current Assessment Approver value is unavailable, the field remains blank.
-
If a primary record is identified, the Risk Owner and Risk Approver defaults to the primary record user type attribute configured in the template action rules. If no user type attribute value is found, the Risk Owner defaults to the Current Assessment Respondent and the Risk Approver defaults to the Current Assessment Approver.
-
In invited user scenarios, if a user type attribute is identified, that user is assigned as the Risk Owner. The invited user receives an email invitation only when the risk moves to the Treatment stage and that user is assigned as the Risk Owner. In this scenario, the Risk Approver defaults to the Current Assessment Approver upon submission of the risk assessment if a value is available; otherwise, the field remains blank.
-
If no attribute question is answered, OneTrust falls back to the inventory user type attribute configured in the template action rule. If that value is also empty, the Risk Owner defaults to the Current Assessment Respondent and the Risk Approver defaults to the Current Assessment Approver.
-
If the template includes an inventory question with a user type attribute, and that same attribute is configured to assign the Risk Owner or Risk Approver, OneTrust uses the user type attribute response only when the inventory is the primary record.
To view risks flagged on an assessment
To manage invalid risks
In cases where an assessment response that previously flagged a risk was changed by a respondent, a notification will appear during the assessment review. The notification will inform approvers that the existing flagged risk may no longer be valid and may impact records in the Risk Register. This notification is usually triggered when assessment responses that impact previously flagged risks were changed when the assessment was sent back by approvers. When the notification appears, you have the option to retain, unlink, or delete the risks.
To delete or unlink a flagged risk
You can delete or unlink risks flagged on an assessment.
To advance risks to the treatment stage
In order to notify the risk owner(s) that they have been assigned a risk, the risk approver must advance the risk to the Treatment stage. In the Treatment stage, the risk is actively mitigated by the risk owner. During this time, tasks are completed, control statuses are updated, and the treatment plan is executed.