Managing Risk Details
You have the ability to fully manage risk records using the Risk Details screen. The ability to edit risks directly on the Risk Details screen offers several operational and strategic advantages. It allows for real-time updates, ensuring that risk information remains current and accurate as new developments arise. This immediacy reduces delays in communication and supports faster, more informed decision-making.
Adding related records, details, and attachments further improves the risk management process. It provides a comprehensive view of the risk by linking it to relevant incidents, controls, audits, or assets, helping stakeholders understand the full context. This holistic approach improves decision-making by consolidating relevant information in one, organized location.
Accessing the Risk Details Screen
There are multiple ways to access the Risk Details screen, which allows you to edit the risk and add related records. You can navigate to it either from the Risk Register or directly from an inventory record. This step is flexible, depending on where you're working within the system.
Navigate to Risk Details via the Risk Register
-
On the IT & Security Risk Management menu, select Risk Register. The Risk Register screen appears.
-
Click the ID Number of the risk you want to access. The Risk Details screen appears on the Details tab.
Navigate to Risk Details via Inventory
-
On the IT & Security Risk Management menu, select . The corresponding inventory list screen appears. You can select from one of the following inventory objects: assets, processing activities, entities, or vendors.
-
Click the Name of the inventory you want to access. The Inventory Details screen appears.
-
Select the Risks tab.
-
Click the ID Number of the risk you want to access. The Risk Details screen appears on the Details tab.
Adding and Editing Risk Details
You can edit risk details, add related objects, link existing records, and review activity history to keep each risk accurate, connected, and easier to manage over time. These actions help provide a more complete view of the risk and support better decision-making.
To edit risk information
To edit custom attributes on the Risk details screen, Risk Owners must have one of the following:
-
The Edit risk custom attributes and Act as an admin on risks permissions; or
-
The Edit risk custom attributes permission and needs to be the Risk Approver
To edit the Treatment plan field, Risk Owners must have one of the following:
-
The Act as an admin on risks and Edit risks permissions; or
-
Be assigned as the Risk Approver
- Navigate to the Risk Details screen.
- Select the Details tab.
- Hover over the field you would like to edit. The Edit Icon will appear to the right of editable fields.
- Click the Edit Icon.
- Edit the fields as necessary.
- Click the Save button.
To add related risks
To add controls to risks
To add tasks to risks
The View risk tasks and Create risk tasks permissions alone does not grant access to the task list on risk records. To view the task list, the user must be one of the following:
-
Risk owner
-
Risk approver
-
Risk manager
-
A user with at least one task assigned on that risk
To add comments to risks
To add attachments to risks
To add links to risks
To view risk activity history
To add related objects to risks
You can add related objects to a risk to enhance risk management, traceability, and decision-making. Related objects help clarify the scope and impact of a risk. When adding certain objects to the risk (asset, vendor, processing activity, or entity) you can link the object to existing controls mitigating the risk or to create new controls for the object to supplement the mitigating controls. This helps ensure that mitigation efforts are efficient and effective. For more information, see Managing Control Implementations.
Managing the Risk Workflow
You can update the workflow configuration to support your organization’s process and advance risks from one stage to the next as needed. Risk workflows help track risks and controls through defined stages and automate key parts of the risk management process.
To advance the risk workflow stage
Risk owners with a custom role must have the Change risk workflow stage permission to advance a risk workflow. This permission allows the user to move a risk through all workflow stages unless a stage is configured as an approval stage. For an approval stage, only the designated users can move the risk to the next stage.
- Navigate to the Risk Details screen.
- Click the Advance button. The Advance modal will appear.
- Click the Submit button to move the risk to the next workflow stage. For more information on advancing risks for approval workflows, see Using the Risk Workflow and Approval Tab.
To change the current risk workflow
When you change a risk workflow, the Result attribute is cleared before the new stage is assigned. This helps prevent outdated data from being carried forward when it may no longer be valid for the new workflow.
In custom workflows, the Result field can be edited from the Details tab until the risk is closed. In the Default Risk Workflow, the Result field remains locked, and invited users cannot edit it.
Since the Result field is a required attribute in the Monitoring stage of the Default Risk Workflow, you cannot move directly to that stage immediately after changing workflows. Instead, move the risk to a different stage first, then update the Result field before progressing the risk to the last stage.