Viewing Assigned Roles and Organizations

When logging into the platform, users assigned with multiple roles within multiple organizations will automatically have access to all permissions tied to each role that they are assigned. Role permissions will be inherited down the organization tree, which means that a Site admin at a parent organization will have Site admin permissions in all lower child organizations. However, the platform will only show child organizations and records based on your role in the organization that is currently selected and will not combine access from other organizations. To view child organizations and records tied to another organization, users must switch to that organization from the User menu.

Note:

For more information on roles and organizations, see Creating and Editing Custom Roles and Managing Organizations.

To view assigned roles and organizations

Users can view each organization in which they are assigned a role by clicking the User icon in the upper right-hand corner. On the User menu, they can see a list of assigned organizations and can hover over those organizations to view the explicit roles that they are assigned. The visibility of child organizations and records are based on the currently selected organization and the roles associated with it. To view child organizations and records tied to another organization, users must switch to that organization by clicking the organization's name in the User menu.

To edit a user's default organization

A user's default organization will be the organization that is automatically selected when the user logs in to the platform. The first organization to which a user is assigned will automatically be set as the user's default organization. Users can update their default organization in their User Preferences, as needed.

  1. Click the User icon in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. On the menu that appears, select User Preferences.
  3. On the User Preferences menu, select Manage Organizations. The My Organizations screen appears.


  4. Hover over the organization that you want to set as your new default organization, and click the Context Menu icon that appears.
  5. On the Context menu, select Set as default. The Set as default modal appears.


  6. Click the Confirm button.