Understanding Linked Permissions

Linked permissions in the OneTrust platform are permissions that are automatically granted or revoked alongside a specific permission that was chosen or removed by the user when configuring a custom role. The following article provides an overview of how linked permissions work and what to expect when granting permissions that are linked to other permissions.

How do linked permissions work?

Previously, all OneTrust permissions existed independently of each other, which caused challenges in knowing which permissions were required in order for a user to interact with a specific object. To move towards simplifying this experience, permissions related to a specific object will now be linked to add clarity to any dependencies that exist. For instance, an Edit permission for an object would be dependent on the respective View permission for that object to ensure that users can access the content that they are editing. With linked permissions, this means that if a user was granted the Edit Roles permission for example, they would then automatically be granted the View Roles permission as well.

Note:

For existing permissions in the OneTrust platform, OneTrust has defined links between certain actions available for specific objects. The permission link behavior will vary depending on whether you are adding or removing permissions. The following sections outline the baseline logic of the permission link behavior, but certain objects may apply different permission link logic.

What happens when I add a permission that is linked?

When configuring a custom role, you will select permissions to grant to that role in the same manner as before. However, if a permission you selected is linked to another permission, those linked permission(s) will also be added and visible for you to review on the Role Summary during role configuration. The following permission link behavior is generally applied when adding permissions for objects in many scenarios:

  • The Delete permission of an object is linked to the Edit permission of the same object. This means:

    • If a Delete permission is granted, the corresponding Edit and View permissions will also be granted.

  • The Create permission of an object is linked to the Edit permission of the same object. This means:

    • If a Create permission is granted, the corresponding Edit and View permissions will also be granted.

  • The Edit permission of an object is linked to the View permission of the same object. This means:

    • If a Edit permission is granted, the corresponding View permission will also be granted.

What happens when I remove a permission that is linked?

When updating permissions for an existing custom role, you will modify the permissions granted to that role in the same manner as before. However, if a permission you removed is linked to another permission, those linked permission(s) will also be removed and visible for you to review on the Role Summary during role configuration. The following permission link behavior is generally applied when removing permissions for objects in many scenarios:

  • The Create permission of an object is linked to the Edit permission of the same object. This means:

    • If a Create permission is removed, the corresponding Edit permission will also be removed if previously configured.

  • The Edit permission of an object is linked to the Delete permission of the same object. This means:

    • If a Edit permission is removed, the corresponding Delete permission will also be removed if previously configured.

  • The View permission of an object is linked to the Create, Edit, and Delete permissions of the same object. This means:

    • If a View permission is removed, the corresponding Create, Edit, and Delete permissions will also be removed if previously configured.

Where can I see this in the OneTrust platform?

You can view linked permissions when you are creating a new custom role or editing an existing custom role. If you select a permission that is linked to another permission, the View linked permissions link will appear within the Permissions Assigned section of the Role Summary. You can click the link to access the Linked Permissions modal, which will list the linked permissions that were added or removed based on the permissions you configured for the role.

Note:

For more information on custom role creation, see Creating and Editing Custom Roles.





Linked Permissions FAQ

The following responses are supported solutions to frequently asked questions (FAQ) on linked permissions. The OneTrust team continuously monitors these inquiries and will make additional FAQ available as they are identified.

Can I turn linked permissions off?

No, linked permissions were designed to map dependencies between permissions. For example, if you want a user to have edit access for an object, that user would also need to have view access for that object. Mapping those dependencies simplifies the user experience by eliminating the need for you to implicitly understand the permission connections.