Managing Recently Added Permissions

Site admins can review recently added permissions introduced within the OneTrust Platform using the Recently added permissions tab on the Roles screen within Global Settings. As new permissions are added to the platform to support new or expanded functionality, or as they are added as part of OneTrust's permission standardization changes across the platform, these permissions will appear on a dedicated tab within the Roles screen, providing clear visibility of what permissions were added and which roles were impacted.

What permission changes appear?

The Recently added permissions tab on the Roles screen within Global Settings contains all new permissions that were recently introduced within the OneTrust Platform. By default, the Date Released filter will be configured to show permissions released in the last 90 days. If the default filter is removed, permissions released in the last year will appear. You can also use the filter to select a specific date range.

For each new permission, admins can see:

  • The new permission added to the platform

  • The system roles that were automatically granted the new permission

  • The custom roles that were automatically granted the new permission

  • Whether the new permission is linked to other permissions

This information enables admins to quickly assess impact and decide how new permissions should be applied across additional custom roles in their environment.

Note:

Existing permissions that have been renamed, merged into an existing permission, or linked to other permissions are not captured on this tab. For more information on those permission changes, see the product-specific permissions release notes articles accessible from the Permissions Release Notes Catalog.

To review recently added permissions

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Roles. The Roles screen appears. 

  3. Click the Recently added permissions tab. The Recently added permissions section appears.


    Field
    Description
    Permission name

    Name of the permission.

    Description

    Brief description that details what the permission allows.

    Permission group

    Product or feature set that the permission levels support.

    Status

    Admin review status of the permission that is saved at the tenant level. Available statuses are:

    • Needs review: Indicates that admin action to review is still needed. Permissions will remain in this status until either the Apply to roles or Mark as reviewed action is completed on the permission.

      Note:

      New permissions may have already been granted to custom roles based on existing permissions. The Needs review status will still appear for a permission that was automatically granted to custom roles by the system.

    • Reviewed: Indicates that admin action has been taken to either apply the permission to additional custom roles or mark the permission as reviewed.

      Note:

      New permissions may have already been granted to custom roles based on existing permissions. The Reviewed status will not appear for a permission that was automatically granted to custom roles by the system. The Reviewed status will only appear if admin action has been taken to apply the permission to additional custom roles or to mark the permission as reviewed.

    Date released

    Date on which the permission was released to your environment.

    Updated roles

    Total number of system roles and custom roles that were granted the permission.

    Last reviewed by

    Name of the last user who completed a review action that updated the status of the permission.

  4. Click the Details icon. The Updated Roles tab of Details pane appears. Both system roles and custom roles that were granted the new permission appear in the Role column. The Updated by column indicates whether the permission update on the role was granted by the system or by a specific user.


    You can click the Linked permissions tab to view the list of permissions that were linked to the new permission. For more information, see Understanding Linked Permissions.



To apply recently added permissions to custom roles

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Roles.

    The Roles screen appears.

  3. Click the Recently added permissions tab.

    The Recently added permissions section appears.

  4. Select the check box or check boxes corresponding to the permissions you want to apply to custom roles.


  5. On the bulk actions toolbar, click the Apply to roles button.

    The Apply permissions to custom roles screen appears.

  6. Select the custom roles that you want to apply the permission to, and click the Next button.


  7. Review and confirm the permission changes, and click the Apply permissions button. The status of the permission(s) will be updated to Reviewed.


To mark permissions as reviewed

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner to access Global Settings.
  2. On the Global Settings menu, select User management > Roles. The Roles screen appears. 

  3. Click the Recently added permissions tab. The Recently added permissions section appears.

  4. Select the check box or check boxes corresponding to the permissions you want to mark as reviewed without applying them to additional custom roles.
  5. On the bulk actions toolbar, click the Mark as reviewed button. The status of the permission(s) will be updated to Reviewed.

Recently Added Permissions FAQ

The following responses are supported solutions to frequently asked questions (FAQ) on recently added permissions. The OneTrust team continuously monitors these inquiries and will make additional FAQ available as they are identified.

Are custom roles automatically updated by OneTrust?

Yes. When OneTrust introduces new permissions that are required for existing functionality, those permissions are automatically added to custom roles that already include the related core permission.

What types of permissions are automatically added?

Permissions that support existing actions already allowed by the role or require dependencies for previously granted functionality. OneTrust does not add unrelated or expanded‑scope permissions relating to new functionality.

Can I see when my custom role has been updated?

Yes. Role details and permission views indicate newly introduced or recently added permissions, allowing administrators to review changes and understand why they were added.