Resetting User Passwords
Site Admins within the root organization can reset a user’s password on their behalf from the Users screen within Global Settings. Once a Site Admin resets the user's password on their behalf, the user will be required to create a new password the next time that they log in. This self-service option allows Site Admins to conduct this action without having to contact OneTrust Support, enabling faster account recovery and minimizing downtime for users who are locked out or unable to reset their credentials.
The Reset Password option can only be completed by Site Admins within the root organization. This action will only work for users who log in to the OneTrust Platform with a username and password. This option will not work for Invited Users and users who log in via Single Sign-On (SSO).
To reset a user's password
Reset Password FAQ
The following responses are supported solutions to frequently asked questions (FAQ) on the reset password flow. The OneTrust team continuously monitors these inquiries and will make additional FAQ available as they are identified.
Can the Reset Password option be used for all users?
No, the Reset Password option will only work for users who log in to the OneTrust Platform with a username and password. This option will not work for Invited Users and users who log in via SSO. A Failed error message will appear if the Reset Password option is selected for either Invited Users or SSO users.
What are the differences between the Reset Password option and the Forgot Your Password link on the Login screen? When should I use the Reset Password option over the Forgot Your Password link?
The Forgot Your Password link on the Login screen can be used by the user directly to initiate the password reset. If they are unable to reset their password using the Forgot Your Password link, they can contact a Site Admin within the root organization to use the Reset Password option. If the failure persists, the Reset Password option will provide the Site Admin with a reason for the failure. The Reset Password option provides a self-service method to reset user passwords without having to contact OneTrust Support.
Why don't I see the Reset Password option for a specific user?
The Reset Password option is not available for expired or deactivated users. You can filter the Users screen within Global Settings by inactive users and review the User information tab for the expiration date and time details or review the User activity tab for the deactivation date and time details.