Setting Up Retention Policies

You can set up a retention policy for case attachments provided by data subjects so that after a designated time frame following the completion of a data subject request, attachments provided in support of that request can be automatically deleted. This applies to requests that are closed, completed, rejected, or expired, in addition to any attachments added to subtasks, results summaries, public replies, and internal posts.

Note:

The actual attachment will be deleted, but the name of the attachment will continue to be visible on the Data Subject Request Details screen for auditing and logging purposes. The data deletion cannot be reversed once the retention policy is applied.

To set up a retention policy

  1. On the Global Settings menu, select Data Subject Access Rights > Attachment Retention Policy. The Attachment Retention Policy screen appears.

  2. Enable the Automatically Delete Attachments setting to populate the retention policy status options.
    Note:

    This setting will apply to attachments on the request and in the Results Summary.



  3. In the Delete Attachments After field, enter the number of days for which attachments should be retained after a request is marked as complete. The default is 30 days.
  4. Select for which request category the retention policy will apply.
    Field
    Description
    Completed Requests

    Enable to apply the retention policy to all requests in the Complete stage.

    Closed Requests

    Enable to apply the retention policy to all requests in the Closed stage.

    Expired Requests

    Enable to apply the retention policy to all requests in the Expired stage.

    Rejected Requests

    Enable to apply the retention policy to all requests in the Rejected stage.

  5. Select for which data source the retention policy will apply.
    • Attachments

  6. Click the Save button.