Using Workflow Versioning
Versioning is the practice of updating workflows with new stages, subtasks, and other configurations while maintaining labels, translations, and other options on active requests. This allows users to maintain request details for existing requests and improve their fulfillment ability with newly configured workflows.
The Versioning Process
Workflow versioning was introduced in early 2021. Workflows created before versioning was available were baseline tagged as Version 0, because no prior version history existed.
Version history begins when a workflow is edited and activated after versioning is introduced. A draft that was created but never published or activated may appear as Draft V1, while the workflow continues to use its last published configuration. To begin tracking activated versions, publish and activate the draft, or create and activate a new edit.
Newly created and activated workflows will appear with a V1 label. When you save an edited workflow, the label will update to V2 but remain in Draft status until activated. This pattern continues each time you edit and save a workflow. Versioned changes will only go into effect once the workflow is activated.