Permissions Release Notes: Settings & Administration
This article consolidates all permissions release notes for Settings & Administration since the OneTrust 202506.1.0 release, providing a single reference point for changes that impact roles, access, and permissions. Each section below corresponds to a release version and includes permissions release notes announced for the product in the respective release. The absence of a release below indicates that there were no permissions release notes announced for the product for that release. For details on permissions release notes across the platform, see Permissions Release Notes Catalog.
Starting in the OneTrust 202601.1.0 release, permissions release notes related to this product will be exclusively published in this article. If permissions release notes exist, the following note will appear within the Permissions section for the respective product on the myOneTrust Release Notes page with a link to this article:
"Permission changes have been implemented to improve platform usability and administrative efficiency. For more information, see Permissions Release Notes: [Product Name]. For a complete list of products with permission updates in this release, see Permissions Release Notes Catalog."
June 26, 2026 - 202606.2.0
- Linked Permissions
-
The following permissions have been linked and will be automatically added or removed from the custom rule during configuration as defined below. For more information, see Understanding Linked Permissions.
Permission name
Explanation of changes
Settings
-
When the Settings permission is removed from the custom role, the following permissions will be automatically removed:
-
View users
-
Edit Single Sign-On settings
-
View organizations
-
Note:In addition, any higher-level permissions linked to the View users permission and the View organizations permission will also be removed.
-
May 15, 2026 - 202605.1.0 (Spring Release)
- Split Permissions
-
The following permissions have been split for more granular and precise access controls and have been granted to system and custom roles as defined below:
Old permission name
New permission name
System roles
Custom roles
Sandbox admin
Edit sandboxes
These permissions have been granted to the Site Admin system role.
These permissions have been granted to custom roles that were previously assigned the Sandbox admin permission.
Edit change requests for sandboxes
Manageaccount
View account details
These permissions have been granted to the following system roles:
AI Governance Manager, Compliance Manager, Privacy Program Auditor, Site Admin, TPDD Admin, Tech Risk & Compliance Admin
These permissions have been granted to custom roles that were previously assigned the Manageaccount permission.
Create support cases
Edit subscriptions
- Renamed Permissions
-
The following permissions have been renamed to improve clarity on the actions associated with each individual permission. No changes have been made to permission functionality.
Old permission name
New permission name
Sandbox view only
View sandboxes
Localization import
Import selected localization content
Documents
View documents
Documents create
Create documents
Documentswrite
Edit documents
Bulk imports
View bulk imports
Default user language edit
Edit default language for users
Settings custom email template
Edit custom email settings
Settings help get
View help
Manage custom subdomains
Edit email and branding settings for domains
- Permission Group Change
-
The permission groups associated with the following permissions have been updated as defined below:
Permission name
Explanation of changes
View documents
The Documents permission group has been removed from the platform. The following permissions that previously belonged to the Documents permission group have been moved to the Administration permission group:
-
View documents
-
Create documents
-
Edit documents
Create documents
Edit documents
-
March 13, 2026 - 202603.1.0
- Renamed Permissions
-
The following permissions have been renamed to improve clarity on the actions associated with each individual permission. No changes have been made to permission functionality.
Old permission name
New permission name
Export organizations
Bulk export organizations
Users export
Export user list
Usergroupsbulksearch
Bulk search for users
Manage API keys
Edit API keys
Manage client credentials
Edit client credentials
User provisioning
Edit user provisioning
Users log view
View user login audit logs
Users log export
Export user login audit logs
Manage Single Sign-on
Edit Single Sign-On settings
Session settings
Edit session setting
Localization editor
View localization editor
Localization editor edit
Edit localization content
Bulk user import
Bulk import users
Import create
Create bulk imports
Import templates
Edit bulk import templates
Custom email template edit
Edit email branding
Custom email template view
View email branding
Language activator edit
Edit available languages for use
Manage email settings
Edit email account settings
View email failure log
View email account failure logs
Subprocessor Controls - User Level
Manage sub processors controls in user preferences
Subprocessor Controls - Global Level
Edit sub processors controls in global settings
Manage custom domains
Edit domains
Manage Two-step Verification
Edit multi-factor authentication settings
User attribute dropdown configure
Edit visible user attributes
Notification settings
Edit notification settings
February 20, 2026 - 202602.1.0 (Winter Release)
- Renamed Permissions
-
The following permissions have been renamed to improve clarity on the actions associated with each individual permission. No changes have been made to permission functionality.
Old permission name
New permission name
Organizations read
View organizations
Organizations add
Create organizations
Organizations edit
Edit organizations
View organization audit history
View organization activity log
View roles
View user roles
Create roles
Create user roles
Edit roles
Edit user roles
Users read
View users
Users add
Create users
Users edit
Edit users
Users delete
Delete users
Deactivate user
Deactivate users
Users activate user
Reactivate users
User groups
View user groups
User groups add
Create user groups
User groups edit
Edit user groups
- Removed Permissions
-
The following permissions have been removed from the platform or removed from select system roles as defined below:
Permission name
Explanation of change
Documents read
The Documents read permission has been removed from the platform. There is no impact to system or custom roles.
June 20, 2025 - 202506.1.0
-
Various permissions have been linked to add clarity to dependencies and reduce the effort of managing custom roles. With this enhancement, permissions related to these objects or functionalities may now be automatically added or removed alongside another permission that was explicitly added to or removed from the custom role during configuration. These changes can be seen by clicking the View linked permissions link in the Role Summary. In the OneTrust 202506.1.0 release, linked permissions are now available for the following objects or functionalities within Global Settings:
-
Bulk Import
-
Bulk User Import
-
Email Branding and Templates
-
Localization Editor
-
Organizations
-
Roles
-
Users
-
User Export
-
User Groups
For more information, see Understanding Linked Permissions.
-