Creating & Managing AI Governance Workflows

The Inventory Manager menu in AI Governance provides easy access to create and manage workflows that have been created for given inventory object types. Here you can view what system and custom workflows are available, their respective stage names, details, and rules, and their current activation status.

To create new workflows

  1. On the AI Governance menu, select Setup > Inventory manager.

    The Inventory manager screen appears.

  2. Click the View button for the desired inventory type.

    Inventory manager screen
  3. Go to the Workflows tab.
  4. Click the Create workflow button.

    The Create new workflow modal appears.

  5. Enter a name for the new workflow, then click the Create button.

    The Workflow details screen appears.


    Create new workflow modal
  6. The new custom workflow has four stages: Not Started, In Progress, Under Review, Completed. You can rename the stages, change the badge color and description for each stage, and add new stages between them to account for additional review steps.

    Workflow details - Not started stage
  7. The Stage details tab includes three advanced settings for managing stages.
    Set required attributes for this stage

    This enforces the completion of the required attributes before the workflow advances to the next stage. Additionally, you can customize the title and guidance that appear on the confirmation modal of the selected attribute.


    Set required attributes for this stage section

    When an approver advances the stage, the confirmation modal appears and displays your content:


    Next stage confirmation modal
    Set as approval stage

    This will prevent the workflow from advancing to the next stage until all added approvers have acknowledged and completed their part of the stage review. Enabling this setting will populate theAuto-advance on approvalsetting so that you can choose which system users or users with a particular attribute are required to approve before the workflow automatically advances. Add one or more fields to refine the auto-advance preferences.

    The Set approval requirement setting lets you choose the ANY or ALL condition, so that either one or all approvers must approve before the stage can be advanced.

    Note:

    You also have the option to bypass certain approvers during workflow fulfillment. Bypassing will override approval requirements even if ALL approvers are configured here. See more on bypassing below.


    Set as approval stage section
    Allow comments when moving to another stage

    This provides users with an opportunity to add a comment before moving to the next stage. You can also mark if a comment is required before the stage can be advanced.


    Allow comments when moving to another stage section
  8. Once you have customized the workflow stages and details, be sure to save these preferences and activate the workflow. For additional guidance on configuring workflow rules and stage rules, see the following:

To advance workflow stages

  1. On the AI Governance menu, select your desired inventory type from the menu options.
  2. Click on the name of an inventory record.

    The Inventory details screen appears.

  3. Click the Next stage button to move the record to the next workflow stage.

    Inventory details workflow stage
  4. To revert workflow stage, click the desired stage.

    The Revert stage modal appears.

  5. Click the Continue button to revert the workflow. This will impact workflow approvals if configured for this workflow.

    Optional: select to run rules and actions associated with the stage transition.


    Revert stage modal
  6. To change the record to a different workflow, click the Change workflow button.

    The Change workflow modal appears.

    The modal shows the number of approvers in the current workflow. Select a published workflow, and then choose the stage you want to use. Click the Save button.

    Optional: select to apply stage rules at the beginning of the next stage.


    Change workflow modal

To conduct reviews of workflows

To review workflows, you must be an approver. If you have the Bypass Required Approvals permission and are an approver in the workflow, you can also advance stages without requesting approval. This permission (and its respective variations for Project, Models, and AI Systems) is given to AI Governance Manager roles by default.

  1. In the Inventory details screen, select the Review button for a given stage.

    The Review modal appears.

  2. For the Result field, select either Approve or Reject. You may also see the option to bypass other approvers if only one is needed to advance the stage and submit your approval.
    Important:

    Even if a stage requires approval from ALL approvers before it can advance, the bypass option overrides that requirement, allowing it to advance without additional approvals.

    You have the option to provide a comment to explain this decision.


    Review modal
  3. Click the Submit review button.

To set a workflow as the default

  1. On the AI Governance menu, select Setup > Inventory manager.

    The Inventory manager screen appears.

  2. Click the View button for the desired inventory type.

    Inventory manager screen
  3. Go to the Workflows tab.
  4. Hover over a workflow to reveal and click the Context Menu icon.
  5. Select Set as default.

    The Set as default modal appears.

  6. Click the Confirm button. The workflow will now be used as the default option.

To archive a workflow

Note:

The workflow must be in a Published state.

  1. In the Workflow details screen of a given workflow, click the Archive button.

    The Archive workflow modal appears.

  2. Click the Confirm button. The workflow will be archived.

To unarchive a workflow

Note:

The workflow must be in an Archived state.

  1. In the Workflow details screen of a given workflow, click the Unarchive button.

    The Unarchive workflow modal appears.

  2. Click the Confirm button. The workflow will be restored to a Published state.

To clone a workflow

  1. In the Workflow details screen of a given workflow, click the Clone button.

    The Clone workflow modal appears.

  2. Enter a name for the new cloned workflow, then click the Clone button.

    The Custom workflow details screen appears for the newly cloned workflow in a Draft state.

To delete a workflow

Note:

The seeded workflows cannot be deleted.

  1. In the Custom workflow details screen, click the Context Menu icon.
  2. Select Delete.

    The Delete workflow modal appears.

  3. Click the Confirm button.
    Note:

    There is no undoing of this action.