Managing Third-Party Risk Management Automation Rules
You can create and configure inventory rules to automatically launch assessments and send emails based on specified conditions. You can also organize your automation rules into groups to improve visibility and streamline module navigation.
Automation rules will not run on contracts set to On Hold, Expired, or Terminated.
To add an automation rule group
To delete an automation rule group
If you delete an automation rule group, any rules assigned to that group will also be deleted.
- Go to the Automation Rules screen.
- Hover over the row of the group you want to delete until the Context Menu icon appears.
- Click the Context Menu icon.
- On the Context menu, select Delete. A confirmation modal appears.
- Click the Confirm button.
To add an automation rule
Rule Configuration References
Conditions
The conditions of a rule determine whether or not the action for the rule will be triggered. If you use more than one condition block, you can select if any or all of the conditions must be met.
When using the Last Assessment Completion Date – All Templates or Last Assessment Completion Date – By Template conditions, the rule considers all assessments tied to inventory records by having a primary record tied to the assessment. For more information, see Enabling Primary Records.
- Field
- Description
- Any/All
-
Select Any if any of the conditions can be met for the automation rule to occur, or select All if all conditions must be met for the automation rule to occur.
- Trigger
-
Select an option for the type of data that is used to define the condition
- Attribute
-
Select the attribute that will be used to define the condition.
- Operator
-
Select the measurement that will be used to determine if the condition is met.
- Value
-
Select the criteria that must be met in order for the condition to be triggered.
Actions
The actions are what happens when the conditions are met. The actions that can be selected are based on the rule type.
Send Assessment
When Copy Previous Assessment is off, the automation rule will send an assessment to all of the inventory records that satisfy the Condition as well as records that do not have the selected template in the Condition completed.
If the selected assessment has previously been sent to the vendor and is Not Started or In Progress, then the automation rule will not execute.
- Field
- Description
- Action
-
Select Send Vendor Assessment.
Note:A new assessment will not launch once conditions are met if there is an existing assessment template in the open, in progress, or under review stage.
- Copy Previous Assessment
-
Enable this setting to copy the previous assessment.
- Copy Latest Assessment's Responses
-
Select this check box to copy the responses from the most recent assessment.
- Copy Latest Assessment's Comments
-
Select this check box to copy the comments from the most recent assessment.
- Copy Latest Assessment's Attachments
-
Select this check box to copy the attachments from the most recent assessment.
- Copy Latest Assessment's Notes
-
Select this check box to copy the notes from the most recent assessment.
- Link Risks from Original Assessment
-
Select this box to link risks created based on the template rules of the first assessment to risks created based on the template rules the newly created assessment on submission.
- Use Latest Template Version
-
Select this check box to automatically use the latest version of the template for the assessment.
- Use Latest Inventory Values
-
Select this check box to automatically populate any attribute questions in the assessment with the current values from the inventory record.
Note:You cannot select this check box if the Copy Latest Assessment's Responses check box is clear.
- Require Confirmation of Changes
-
Select this check box to require the respondent to review responses that have changed and confirm the changes to the new assessment before submitting.
- Send New Blank Assessment if no Assessments Found
-
Select this check box to send a blank assessment if an assessment using the same assessment template has not yet been sent for the inventory record.
Note:When using the Last Assessment Completion Date - By Template greater than (X) days condition and Send New Blank Assessment if No Assessment Found, the respondent will receive the assessment template defined in the actions section of the rule.
- Archive Original Assessment
-
Select this check box to automatically archive the original assessment to help reduce the number of active assessments.
Note:If you have Archive Original Assessment enabled by default in Global Settings, this box will be automatically checked.
- Template Name
-
Select the template you want the rule to use to launch the assessment.
Note:The template used in the Action modal must match the template selected in the Conditions modal for a new assessment to be created from a completed assessment.
- Deadline
-
Enter the number of days the respondent has to complete the assessment.
- Reminder
-
Enter the number of days before the deadline which the respondent should be reminded to complete the assessment.
- Approver
-
Select the approver that will be assigned to the launched assessment.
- Use Previous Approver(s)
-
Select this check box to assign the triggered assessment to the same approver as the most recent assessment.
- Respondent
-
Select the user or user type attribute that will be assigned as the respondent for the launched assessment.
- Send to Previous Respondent(s)
-
Select this check box to assign the follow-up assessment to the same respondent(s) as the previous assessment.
Respondents will automatically receive the same assigned sections based on the previous assessment when this box is checked.
- Send to:
- IT Owner
- Control Owner
- DPO Contact
- Business Process Owner
- Primary Vendor Contact
-
Select this check box to send the triggered assessment to the user listed on the record for these fields. The send to options differ depending on the rule type selected.
- Description
-
Enter a brief description of the assessment that will be sent by the rule.
- Comments to Respondent
-
Enter any comments to be sent to the respondent.
Send Email
- Field
- Description
- Action
-
Select Send Vendor Email.
- Send Past Due Notice
-
Enable this setting to send a respondent reminder email.
Note:This field only applies to the Assessment rule type.
- Recipient(s)
-
Select the user, enter the user email, or select the user type attribute of the recipient of the notification email.
- Send to:
- Primary Vendor Contact
- IT Owner
- Contract Owner
- Control Owner
- DPO Contact
- Business Process Owner
-
Select this check box to send the email to the user listed on the record for these fields. The send to options differ depending on the rule type selected.
- Email Template
-
Select the email template that will be used to notify the selected recipient.
Send Report
- Field
- Description
- Action
-
Select Send Vendor Report.
Note:Vendor reports that are PDFs can be sent using this option. Other vendor report formats cannot be selected.
- Recipient(s)
-
Select the user, enter the user email, or select the user type attribute of the recipient of the notification email.
- Report Name
-
Select the report you want the rule to use to launch the report.
Send Assessment Report
- Field
- Description
- Action
-
Select Send Assessment Report.
- Report Template To Use
-
Select the report template you would like to use to send the assessment report.
- Assessment Template(s) to Report On
-
Select the assessment templates you would like to report on. The report will be based on the latest completed assessment of the assessment template.
- Recipient(s)
-
Choose the system users and user type attributes in which you'd like to send the assessment report.
- All Respondents
-
Select this checkbox to send the assessment report to all assessment respondents.
Note:If the All Respondents option is selected, but the respondent is an external user with the Invited User role, no report will be triggered. For more information, see Invited Users FAQ.
- All Approvers
-
Select this checkbox to send the assessment report to all vendor approvers.
To edit an automation rule
To delete an automation rule
Automation rules are not deleted when a user is deleted. If a user is deleted, the rule will be re-assigned to the user's manager or default approver.