Third-Party Risk Management Workflows FAQ

This document outlines frequently asked questions related to vendor and engagement workflows, workflow rules, and workflow stage rules.

General Workflow Questions

What are vendor workflows and workflow stages?

Vendor workflows and workflow stages offer ways to quickly view and update where a vendor stands in your organization.

For example, you may be in the process of onboarding, offboarding, or rejecting a vendor.

How do I configure workflows and stages?

To configure vendor workflows and stages, navigate to the Workflows tab of the Third-Party Risk Management module and select Vendor Workflows. You have the ability to add new workflows or clone, publish, and archive existing workflows.

You can configure different stages to be included within each workflow and remove created stages at any time. The items that can be configured include:

  • Stage Badge Colors

  • Stage Names

  • Stage Descriptions

Note:

Workflows and stages can only be configured for Draft workflows. Once a workflow is Published, you will have to clone it and edit the new draft to update the stages. The workflow names can be updated at any time.

For more information, see Adding and Editing Vendor Workflows.

What is the default workflow?

The default workflow is the workflow set to your vendor when the vendor is added for the first time. The vendor will begin in the first stage of the workflow. You can manage which workflow you want as your default at any time via the Third-Party Risk Management Workflows screen.

For more information, see Adding and Editing Vendor Workflows.

What are the default onboarding, offboarding, and rejecting workflows?

OneTrust has provided three default system workflows for your use. These workflows can be cloned and deactivated if you do not want to use them.

Note:

The default system workflows cannot be edited unless they are cloned.

For more information on cloning or deactivating workflows, see Adding and Editing Vendor Workflows.

How does standard offboarding work?

Standard offboarding in OneTrust leverages OOTB workflows and checklists to simplify and standardize vendor offboarding and deprovisioning.

How is offboarding triggered?

Offboarding is initiated through configurable triggers such as contract or engagement expiration, incident severity, performance breaches, or risk posture changes, including events sourced from upstream S2P or ERP systems. Any of these events can launch offboarding workflows automatically through automation and workflows rule configuration.

How does the standard offboarding workflow work?

Third parties are moved to an offboarding specific workflow which guides internal users and the vendor through pre-determined steps to ensure complete termination of business, technical, and data connection. Workflows feature standardized tasks, assessments, approvals, and escalations to defined owners and collaborators.

Are there OOTB offboarding checklists?

Yes. Out‑of‑the‑box offboarding checklists cover standard data and contractual obligations and makes it easy for a vendor to attest and attach evidence of adherence. Customer checklists can be easily configured to match your organization’s needs.

Where is offboarding evidence stored?

The vendor portal collects attestations and artifacts confirming data return or deletion, with all evidence stored on the third‑party record for easy auditability.

Can I trigger any external systems to support broader deprovisioning?

Preconfigured integrations notify downstream business systems to disable access, halt purchasing, and confirm deprovisioning across associated products and services.

Why did my existing vendors start off in different workflows?

Your vendors are migrated to certain workflows and stages based on their status.

Vendor Status

System Workflow

Active

Default Onboarding Workflow and Live Stage

Pending

Default Onboarding Workflow and New Stage

Archived

Default Onboarding Workflow and Terminated Stage

Workflow Rules Questions

If I create a workflow rule using the Updated Attribute event trigger and do not configure workflow rule conditions, how will the workflow rule action be triggered?

The vendor or engagement workflow rule configured will be triggered if:

  • Updates are made on a vendor or engagement record.

  • Bulk updates are made to vendor or engagement records on the list screens.

  • Updates are made on the parent of a vendor via global/local records when attribute syncing is enabled.

  • The vendor or engagement risk level or risk score change due to risk updates.

  • The vendor or engagement organization is deleted.

  • The vendor or engagement status is changed.

The vendor or engagement workflow rule configured will not be triggered if:

  • You manually change the vendor or engagement stage.

  • You manually change the vendor or engagement workflow.

  • Updates are made using the Update Third Parties import template.

  • Updates are made using the Update Vendors import template.

  • Updates are made using the Update Engagements import template.

  • Updates are made to a vendor or engagement via an assessment.

For more information, Adding Workflow Rules to Vendor Workflows.

What happens if I have two workflow rules configured and a vendor meets all the conditions for both rules?

Workflow rules are evaluated in sequential order. The first rule that meets all the conditions will advance the workflow to the stage specified in that rule.

Workflow Stage Rules Questions

If I have created a stage rule to launch an assessment and the vendor already has an open assessment with the same template, will the system launch a new assessment?

No. There's a validation check that will prevent sending duplicate assessments when the vendor still has an open assessment using the same template.

What happens if I have a stage rule configured to send an assessment, but the respondent is assigned to a user who has been deactivated?

The assessment would not be sent since there is no valid respondent assigned to the assessment.

What happens if I have a stage rule that specifies a user assignment and that user is deleted?

The user would be replaced with their manager and if no manager assigned, the user would be replaced with the default approver of the organization.

What happens if I create a stage rule with no conditions?

When a vendor reaches the stage, the action will automatically be taken and will not validate against conditions.

What order are stage rules evaluated?

The stage rules are evaluated asynchronously.

What happens if the conditions configured for one stage rule is not met?

The next stage rule will be evaluated.

Will the workflow stage rule action launch duplicate assessments?

No. When using the workflow stage rule to launch an assessment, the assessment will not launch if an existing one is open using the same template.

If I would like to configure workflow stage rules to send an assessment report, which assessment are you reporting on?

If you have used the same assessment template, the report is sent using the last completed assessment only.

What is the expected behavior when an engagement is created via the platform vs API (POST /api/vendor/v1/vendor-engagements) and the Engagement Created trigger is configured for stage advancement?

When an engagement is created manually in the platform, the Engagement Created trigger will advance the workflow stage as expected. When an engagement is created via the API, the rule does not trigger and the workflow remains in the current stage.