De-duplicating Risks for a Copied/Reassessed Assessment

Assessments that are copied or reassessed will de-duplicate the risks from the source assessment. De-duplicating allows users to reassess or copy an assessment without duplicating identified risks from previous assessments. When you reassess or copy an assessment, the risk on the original assessment is linked to the reassessed or copied risk.

If this feature is enabled, any risk created based on the template rule of the first assessment will be linked to the newly re-assessed or copied assessment on submission. This will link a risk to multiple assessments. If you update a risk on one assessment, it will be reflected on all linked assessments. If you delete a de-duplicated risk on one assessment, the risk will be removed from the assessment and remain linked to the other reassessed or copied assessments.

Inventory records can have only one risk based off a specific risk template. If there are multiple template rules created using the same risk template to create the risk, the system will dedupe the old risk and link it to the new assessment.

To link risks from original assessment

Important:
  • When you reassess or copy an assessment, the Link Risks From Original Assessment setting must be enabled to take advantage of the de-dupe feature from the Risk Library. This setting prevents duplicate risks from being created if the existing assessment risks were created using a Risk Library template. When the setting is enabled, the risks are reused from the previous assessment and no new risks are generated.

  • If you would like to remove existing approvers when an assessment is copied or reassessed, enable the Remove workflow approvers when reassessing or duplicating setting on the Template details screen. If this setting is disabled, existing approvers will automatically be assigned to the new assessment.

  • If the assessment template has rules to create a new risk not using a Risk Library template, the risks will be duplicated after the reassessment is launched and submitted.

  1. On the module of your choice, select Assessments > Active.
    The Assessments screen appears.

  2. Open the assessment you would like to reassess or copy.
  3. Click the Context Menu icon.
  4. On the Context menu, select Reassess or Copy.
  5. Complete the fields. For more information, see the Assessment Details Screen Reference.
  6. Click the Send button.

Assessment Details Screen Reference



Field
Description
Assessment Name

Enter the name of the assessment.

Organization

Select the name of the organization.

Deadline

Select a deadline for the assessment.

Reminder

Enter how many days before the deadline would you like to be reminded.

Approver

Select the approver(s) for the assessment.

Respondent

Select the respondent(s) for the assessment.

Assign sections while launching this assessment

Enable this setting to allow you to assign specific sections of the assessment to specific respondents. The assessment will display the progress of each respondent.

Copy Assessment Content

Select the content you would like to copy.

Use Latest Template Version
Important:

This setting is only available when copying an assessment.

Enable this setting to use the latest template version for the copied assessment. This includes any new or edited template questions.

Require Confirmation of Changes
Important:

This setting is only available when copying an assessment.

Enable this setting to require users to review changed responses and confirm no additional changes are needed before submitting the copied assessment.

Use Latest Inventory Values
Important:

This setting is only available when copying an assessment.

Enable this setting to copy attributes and controls from the current inventory value instead of the original assessment responses. This is only applicable if the attributes and controls have been updated since the original assessment responses were sent.

Link Risks From Original Assessment

Enable this setting to link risks from the original assessment.

Note:

You can no longer change the organization tied to an assessment when copying or reassessing.

Archive Original Assessment

Enable this setting to move the original assessment to the Archived list. The original assessment will no longer be active until it is unarchived.

Description

Enter a brief description that accurately describes the assessment.

Comment to Respondent

Enter comments that will be visible to the assessment respondent.

Understanding Reassessment Behavior: Linking Risks from Original Assessments

The Link Risks from Original Assessment setting affects how reassessments or copied assessments related to previously created risks.

Important:

This behavior operates alongside a system constraint: for a given inventory, only one risk can exist per Risk library template. As a result, if a reassessment targets the same inventory and triggers the same template, the system will link to the existing risk, even if the Link Risks from Original Assessment setting is disabled.

The following behavior applies to system-created, rule-based risks. It does not provide equivalent intelligence for risks that were manually flagged. If a reassessment is based on a new assessment template version and the relevant rule is changed, the system may treat it as a new rule and create a new risk.

When the setting is enabled:

  • The system attempts to link to the original rule-created risk.

  • The same risk record is reused (including ID, status, history, and ownership).

When the setting is disabled:

  • Risks are not explicitly carried forward. However, if the same template applies, the existing risks will be reused due to the system constraint.

  • Rules are re-evaluated.