Using the Risk Workflow and Approval Tab

All risks using a custom workflow in the IT & Security Risk Management module will have a Workflow and Approval tab on the Risk Details screen. This tab is used by approvers in the current workflow stage to review the risk. The approvers review the risk and have the option to accept or reject.

When an approver is added to a workflow stage and that stage is triggered, it is best practice to configure a notification rule to trigger a Ready for Review email will be sent to the approver. This email indicates that the user is needed to approve or reject the risk in the current stage.

This procedure will help approvers review and accept or reject the risk. These steps begin once the approver receives the Ready for Review email.

To navigate to the Workflow and Approval tab

  1. Click the View button in the Ready for Review email. The Risk Details screen will appear.


  2. Review the risk record to determine if you will approve or reject.
  3. On the Details screen, click the Review button. The Review modal will appear.

To approve or reject the document

  1. Navigate to the Review modal.
    Note:

    If this modal no longer appears, click the Review button on the Details screen.

  2. Complete the fields. For more information, see Review Modal Screen Reference.
  3. Click the Submit Review button.

Review Modal Screen Reference



Field
Description
Result

Select Approve or Reject.

Bypass Other Approvers

Enable this setting to bypass all other required approvers for this workflow stage.

Comments

Enter comments you have about the approval or rejection of the risk.

To bypass other approvers

  1. On the Workflow and Approval tab, click the Advance button. The Bypass Approvals modal will appear.


  2. Click the Confirm button.

To view the risk activity of approvals

The approval workflow Risk Activity retains all audit history of approvals regardless of the stage transitions. The activity from older stages is never removed.

  1. On the Workflow and Approval tab, scroll down to view the Risk Activity.


  2. Click the Sort icon button to change the order of the activity log (ascending/descending).
  3. Click the Collapse All button to close the detail view for each item.
  4. Click the Expand All button to expand each item to show details about the changes made.
    Note:

    The Expand All button appears in place of the Collapse All button when all items are collapsed.