Creating, Editing, and Deleting an Audit
You can audit controls by creating and configuring an audit to aid in collecting information and managing the audit process.
Some menus, sections, and options shown in this article may only be available as a preview feature. To enable access to this feature, please contact OneTrust Support to submit the request.
What is an Audit?
An audit is a comprehensive review of an organization's processes, systems, and activities to assess their efficiency, effectiveness, and alignment with business objectives. The objective of an audit is to identify areas of improvement, and enhance overall performance. Audits examine various operational areas to ensure that processes are functioning as intended. In-scope workpapers and findings that are documented as part of the audit project.
Audits are assessments to determine if an organization is adhering to relevant laws, regulations, and internal policies. This is done through workpapers and findings. You can associate scopes to an audit. Scopes are the list of controls that are associated with the audit during creation. Each control generates a workpaper.
To create an audit
To edit an audit
Once an audit has been created, you can edit audit fields on the Audit Details screen. Editing an audit allows you to change fields to stay up-to-date and easily make any updates needed to existing data captured on the audit record.
To advance the audit stage
Enter Audit Details Screen Reference
- Field
- Description
- Audit Name
-
Enter a name for the audit.
- Statement/Goal
-
Enter the goal and/or purpose for this audit.
- Standard/Framework
-
Select the standards/framework(s) you would like to audit.
- Organization
-
Select the organization or child organization responsible for the audit.
- Start Date
-
Select the date the audit starts.
- End Date
-
Select the date the audit ends.
- Auditor(s)
-
Select the auditor(s) for the audit.
- Approver(s)
-
Select the approver(s) for the audit.
To export an audit
To delete an audit
You can delete an audit when it is no longer needed.
The action of deleting an audit is permanent and the workpapers, findings, tasks, and attachments associated with the audit will also be deleted.