Managing Audit Workflows

You can use custom workflows to manage your audits, workpapers, and findings by creating various stages. The OneTrust application also has pre-configured workflows to help your organization track all implemented audit, workpaper, and finding records.

To create a workflow

  1. On the Audit Management menu, select Setup > Workflows.

    The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Select the workflow type you would like to configure.
  3. Click the Create New button.
    The Create New Workflow modal appears.
    The Create New Workflow modal with fields for workflow name, and the Cancel and Create buttons.
  4. Enter a name for the workflow.
  5. Click the Create button.

To add a new stage in the workflow

You can add new stages to workflows in draft status. To add new stages to a published workflow, you must clone the workflow before making changes.

  1. On the Audit Management menu, select Setup > Workflows.
    The Workflows screen appears.
  2. Select the workflow type you would like to configure.
  3. Click on the name of the workflow you want to edit.
    The Workflow Details screen appears.
    Note:

    The Workflow Details screen also appears when you create a new workflow.

  4. Click the Add icon button.

    The Add New Stage modal appears.


    Add New Stage modal with fields for stage title, badge color, description, and stage settings.
    Field
    Description
    Stage Title

    Enter a title for the new stage.

    Badge Color

    Select a badge color for the stage.

    Note:

    Badge colors help identify different workflows stages and helps with managing individual stages to assist with reporting on items that are new, in-progress, under review, rejected, completed, or archived.

    Descriptions

    Enter a brief description of the stage.

    Set required attributes for this stage

    Enable this setting to configure the attribute(s) that must be completed when entering this workflow stage. For more information, see To configure workflow stage settings.

    Set as approval stage

    Enable this setting to make this an approval stage. Approval stages must be reviewed and approved by the assigned users. For more information, see To configure workflow stage settings.

    Approval stages can be configured to auto-advance on approval, assign approvers, and will launch email notifications when approval is required.

    Allow comments when moving to another stage

    Enable this setting to give users the ability to add comments to a audit before moving to the next stage. You can also make adding comments required. For more information, see To configure workflow stage settings.

  5. Click the Add button. Your stage will be added in the sequence of the workflow.
    Note:

    You can configure the name, badge color, and description of each workflow stage to build a detailed workflow that fits your organization's needs.

    If you want to update the status of a stage, click the Badge Color field and assign a new stage color.

    If you want to add more stages and change the sequence, click the Add icon button before or after the stage.

    If you want to delete the stage, click the Delete icon button on the stage you wish to delete.

To configure workflow stage settings

You can configure workflow settings when adding a new workflow stage or when editing workflow stages after the initial creation.

  1. On the Workflow Details screen, navigate to the Stage Details tab of the workflow stage in which you would like to configure settings.
    Stage Details tab showing configuration options for workflow stage settings, including required attributes, approval settings, and comment requirements.

    Setting Name & Description

    Setting Field

    Setting Field Description

    Select required attributes for this stage:

    Once enabled, the selected attributes are required prior to entering the current workflow stage. You must select the attributes that need to be confirmed before advancing the stage. You also have the option to customize the title and guidance that appears on the modal to confirm the attributes.
    Note:

    This setting can be enabled and configured after a workflow has been published. However, this setting is not available on the first stage of a workflow.

    Attributes

    Required

    Select the attributes that will need to be confirmed before advancing to the next stage.

    Title

    Enter the name of the title that will appear on the modal to confirm the attributes.

    If you do not enter a title, the OneTrust platform will generate a generic title.

    Guidance

    Enter custom guidance that will help users when confirming attributes. This text will appear on the modal to confirm the attributes.

    If you do not enter a title, the OneTrust platform will generate a generic guidance.

    Set as approval stage:

    Once enabled, all approvers added will receive an email notification and have limited access to the current workflow stage.

    Auto Advance on Approval

    If enabled, the workflow will automatically move to the next stage once all approvers have approved.

    If disabled, the workflow will not automatically move to the next stage once all approvers have approved.

    Set Approval Requirements

    Select whether one or all approvers must give their approval.

    Approvers

    Required

    Select the active system users or user attributes that must approve the current workflow stage. You can add or remove approvers once a workflow is published.

    Allow comments when moving to another stage:

    Once enabled, you can add a comment to the workflow stage before moving to the next stage.

    Require comments to move to another stage

    If enabled, adding a comment is required before advancing to the next workflow stage.

    If disabled, comments are not required before advancing to the next workflow stage.

  2. Configure the workflow stage settings as needed.
  3. Click the Save button.

To edit the name of a workflow

  1. Open the workflow type you would like to configure.
  2. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to edit until the Context Menu icon appears.
  3. Click the Context Menu icon.
  4. On the Context menu, select Edit Workflow.

    The Edit Workflow modal appears.

  5. Reconfigure as needed.
  6. Click the Save button.

To publish a workflow

  1. Open the workflow type you would like to configure.
  2. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to publish until the Context Menu icon appears.
  3. Click the Context Menu icon.
  4. On the Context menu, select Publish.

    The Publish Workflow modal appears.

  5. Click the Confirm button.

To clone a workflow

You can clone an existing draft or published workflow to copy all existing details.

  1. Open the workflow type you would like to configure.
  2. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to clone until the Context Menu icon appears.
  3. Click the Context Menu icon.
  4. On the Context menu, select Clone.

    The Clone Workflow modal appears.

  5. Enter a workflow name.
  6. Click the Clone button.

To archive a workflow

You can archive published workflows.

  1. Open the workflow type you would like to configure.
  2. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to archive until the Context Menu icon appears.
  3. Click the Context Menu icon.
  4. On the Context menu, select Archive.

    The Archive Workflow modal appears.

  5. Click the Confirm button.

To delete a workflow

You can delete workflows that are in Draft or Archived status.

  1. Open the workflow type you would like to configure.
  2. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to delete until the Context Menu icon appears.
  3. Click the Context Menu icon.
  4. On the Context menu, select Delete.

    The Delete Workflow modal appears.

  5. Click the Delete button.

To set a default workflow

You can set published workflows as the default workflow used for your organization.

  1. Open the workflow type you would like to configure.
  2. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to set as default until the Context Menu icon appears.
  3. Click the Context Menu icon.
  4. On the Context menu, select Set as Default.

    The Set as Default modal appears.

  5. Click the Confirm button.