Managing Sandbox Accounts
You can test system updates that are upcoming in the OneTrust platform before they are made live across all environments by creating a sandbox account. When a sandbox is created, the sandbox will contain a copy of the configuration data from the parent account that can then be tested and altered within the sandbox without any effect to the configuration data within the parent account. If needed, the sandbox can later be refreshed to keep the configuration data aligned with the parent account.
For more information on sandbox accounts, see Sandbox Management Overview.
To create a sandbox
To view sandbox details
To edit a sandbox name
After a sandbox is created, you can change the sandbox's name if needed. This will update the name of the sandbox that appears within the OneTrust Platform. The current name of the sandbox contained within the Application Sandbox Domain and Data Subject Portal Sandbox Domain URLs cannot be replaced and will remain unchanged.
To refresh a sandbox
In order to keep a sandbox aligned with production, the sandbox can be refreshed. When a sandbox is refreshed, the sandbox will be cleared of all data and will be re-seeded with a copy of the current configuration data from the parent account. The sandbox will only retain the following data after the refresh:
-
Account name
-
Description
-
Administrator
-
Application Sandbox Domain
-
Data Subject Portal Sandbox Domain
-
Single Sign-On (SSO) configuration
-
Client Credentials
All other configuration data will be purged from the sandbox, including sandbox-only users. Upon refresh, all users and roles will be copied from the parent account to the sandbox account. All users, with the exception of the Sandbox Administrator, will be marked as Inactive within the sandbox. However, the Sandbox Administrator can reactivate any users and add new users directly to the sandbox. Sandbox-only users who previously had access to the sandbox account prior to the refresh will be deleted and will need to be re-added.