Global Settings Request Retention Policies

The Retention Policies are located and configurable on the Global Settings menu under Data Retention > Privacy Rights Automation. These polices will assist users in the removal of personal information from the application. Users can create and manage Retention Policies and choose which data object(s) to delete after a specified period of time.

Access default policies

There are a number of Privacy Rights Automation retention policies that are available by default. These default policies can be disabled or re-enabled and edited or deleted at the admin's digression. The default policies are in alphabetically order from the country it represents. Each default policy has specific details according to the Retention Policy rules for that country.

There is no statutory retention for documents, attachments or the content of data subject rights. Retention periods are therefore mainly determined by the controller's individual legitimate interest in retaining the personal data and documentation in question, taking into consideration the processing activity to which they relate, the right(s) exercised, the results and the likelihood of subsequent claims. The general limitation or prescription period is suggested in the associated seeded policies and is outlined in the table below.

Seeded Policies

Represented Country

DSAR Retention Period

Austria

3 Years

Belgium

10 Years

Brazil

10 Years

Bulgaria

2 Years

California

24 Months

Canada

3 Years

Croatia

4 Years

Cyprus

5 Years

Czechia

4 Years

Denmark

5 Years

Estonia

3 Years

Finland

3 Years

France

5 Years

Germany

2 Years

Greece

5 Years

Hungary

5 Years

Ireland

6 Years

Italy

5 Years

Latvia

2 Years

Lithuania

10 Years

Luxembourg

10 Years

Malta

5 Years

Netherlands

5 Years

Norway

3 Years

Poland

6 Years

Portugal

1 Year

Romania

3 Years

Slovakia

3 Years

Slovenia

3 Years

South Africa

3 Years

Spain

5 Years

Sweden

10 Years

Thailand

10 Years

Turkey

10 Years

United Kingdom

6 Years

To create a custom policy

  1. On the Global Settings menu, select Data Retention. The Data Retention screen appears.


  2. Select the Privacy Rights Automation option. The Retention Policies screen appears.


  3. Click the Add Retention Policy button.
  4. Complete the fields. For more information, see Add Retention Policy Screen Reference.
  5. Click the Test Policy button.
    Note:

    Users have the ability to test their newly added/edited polices by accessing the Test Policy functionality. Utilize this feature to see which requests will be impacted within the next 90 days due to the new/changed policy.



  6. Click the Save button. The Save Retention Policy modal appears.


    Note:

    When attempting to save a custom Retention Policy, the Save Retention Policy model will identify how many requests/items will be affected.

    If you want to run the policy now, check the Run Retention Policy Now checkbox before confirming.

  7. Click the Confirm button.

Add Retention Policy Screen Reference



Field
Description
Policy Action

Select the action that this retention policy will perform:

  • Delete Requests

  • Deidentify Requests

  • Archive Requests

  • Delete Archived Requests

Note:

Deletion and deidentification policies can not run on archived requests. Once a request is archived, only the Delete Archived Requests policy action will run for the request.

For Any Requests in these Stages

Select the request stage(s) that this retention policy will apply to:

  • Closed

  • Complete

  • Expired

  • Rejected

Delete Requests After

Enter the amount of days, weeks, months, or years the Policy Action will take place on requests reaching the stage(s) selected above.

For Any of these Request Types

Select the request type(s) that this retention policy will apply to.

For Any of these Subject Types

Select the subject type(s) that this retention policy will apply to.

In Any of these Workflows

Select the workflow(s) that this retention policy will apply to.

In Any of these Organizations

Select the organization(s) that this retention policy will apply to.

In Any of these Jurisdictions

Select the jurisdiction(s) that this retention policy will apply to.

To edit policies

  1. On the Retention Policies screen, select the Context Menu menu icon for the Retention Policy you want to edit. The Context menu appears.

  2. Select Edit. All editable Retention Policy fields display.


  3. Edit the policy as necessary.
  4. Click the Save button.

To delete policies

  1. On the Retention Policy screen, select the Context Menu menu icon for the Retention Policy you wish to delete. The Context menu appears.

  2. Select Delete. The Delete Retention Policy modal appears.


  3. Click the Confirm button.
    Important:

    Once the policy is deleted or disabled, requests that were set to be implemented by the deleted or disabled policy will no longer be exercised.

To access scheduled items view

The Scheduled Items View will show all items scheduled for action and on hold within the next 90 days.

  1. On the Global Settings menu, select Data Retention.

    The Data Retention screen appears.

  2. Select the Privacy Rights Automation option.

    The Retention Policies screen appears.

  3. Select the Context Menu menu icon for a Retention Policy.

    The Context menu appears.

  4. Select View Scheduled Items.

    The Scheduled Items screen appears.


    Scheduled Items screen showing a list of items with their scheduled actions and dates.
    Note:

    User may also access the Scheduled Items View by clicking the View All Scheduled Items button.

To place retention policy holds

Once a request has been closed, completed, expired or rejected, users can place a request scheduled for retention on hold.

  1. Review the scheduled items view to locate an item you wish to put on hold.
  2. Select the Context menu of a Completed, Rejected, or Expired request.
  3. Select Place on Retention Hold option.


    Note:

    Users have the ability to manually place the request on hold by accessing the Context menu on the Privacy Rights Automation platform:



  4. The Place on Retention Hold modal appears.


    Note:

    Users have the option to place requests on hold:

    • Indefinitely - No actions will be taken by any policy until you manually remove the item from hold.

    • For a set period of time - Remove the hold automatically after a set period of time.

  5. Click the Save button. You can view the holds from the Scheduled Items View screen.

To remove retention policy holds

  1. On the Scheduled Items screen, select the Context menu of the request that has been placed on hold.
  2. Select the Remove from Hold option.


  3. The Remove from Hold modal appears.


    Note:

    If users remove an item from hold that has a Scheduled Action Date that is set in the past, it will be executed on the next run.

  4. Click the Confirm button.

To learn more