Adding and Deleting Workflows

Workflows divide a data subject request into stages for processing. This helps your privacy team prioritize and fulfill data subject requests in a timely manner.

You can add and customize the workflows you use to process data subject requests, including adding stages, providing guidance text for the privacy team in multiple languages, and setting up sub-tasks which are associated with individual stages.

Note:

If you are using this tool as part of your organization's California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) program, you can start with a default workflow that includes tailored guidance specific to California consumers.

To add a new workflow

  1. On the Privacy Rights Automation menu, select Setup > Workflows.

    The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click the Create workflow button.

    The Create new workflow modal appears.


    Create new workflow modal with fields for choosing an existing workflow, workflow name, and managing organization.
  3. In the Choose an existing workflow field, select an existing workflow to use as the starting point for the new workflow.
    Note:

    Default workflows cannot be edited. You will need to create a new workflow from a default or existing workflow to make edits and custom changes.

  4. In the Workflow name field, enter the name of the new workflow being created.
  5. In the Managing organization field, enter the name of the Organization.
  6. Click the Create button.

    The Workflow details screen appears.

  7. Customize the workflow as necessary. For more information about customizing workflows, see Customizing a Workflow.

To delete a workflow

Note:

Only custom workflows can be deleted. You can only delete a custom workflow if the workflow is not being used in any published or draft web forms. Seeded workflows cannot be deleted.

  1. On the Privacy Rights Automation menu, select Select > Workflows. The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click on the name of the workflow you want to delete. The Workflow details screen appears.

  3. Click the Context Menu icon.
  4. On the Context menu, select Delete. The Delete workflow modal appears.

  5. Click the Confirm button.