Managing Privacy Notice Workflows

You can use workflows to manage your privacy notices by creating various stages. This will help your organization track all implemented privacy notices. The OneTrust application has pre-configured workflows that include the following stages: New, In Development, In Use, and Retired.

To create a workflow

  1. On the Privacy Notice Management menu, select Setup > Workflows. The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click the View button on the Privacy Notice Workflows tile.
  3. Click the Create workflow button. The Create New Privacy Notice Workflow modal appears.


  4. Enter a name for the workflow.
  5. Click the Create button.

To add a new stage in the workflow

You can add new stages to workflows in draft status. To add new stages to a published workflow, you must clone the workflow before making changes.

  1. On the Privacy Notice Management menu, select Setup > Workflows.

    The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click the View button on the Privacy Notice Workflows tile.
  3. Click on the name of the workflow you want to edit.
    Note:

    The Workflow Details screen also appears when you create a new workflow.

    The Workflow Details screen appears.

  4. Click the Add icon button.

    The Add New Stage modal appears.


    Add New Stage modal showing workflow stage configuration fields
  5. Configure the fields as necessary.
    Field
    Description
    Stage Title

    Enter a title for the new stage.

    Badge Color

    Select a badge color for the stage.

    Note:

    Badge colors help identify different workflows stages and helps with managing individual stages to assist with reporting on items that are new, in-progress, under review, rejected, completed, or archived.

    Description

    Enter a brief description of the stage.

    Set required attributes for this stage

    Enable this setting to configure the attribute(s) that must be completed when entering this workflow stage. For more information, see To configure workflow stage settings.

    Set as approval stage

    Enable this setting to make this an approval stage. Approval stages must be reviewed and approved by the assigned users. For more information, see To configure workflow stage settings.

    Approval stages can be configured to auto-advance on approval, assign approvers, and will launch email notifications when approval is required.

    Allow comments when moving to another stage

    Enable this setting to give users the ability to add comments to a document before moving to the next stage. You can also make adding comments required. For more information, see To configure workflow stage settings.

  6. Click the Add button. Your stage will be added in the sequence of the workflow.
    Note:

    You can configure the name, badge color, and description of each workflow stage to build a detailed workflow that fits your organization's needs.

    If you want to update the status of a stage, click the Badge Color field and assign a new stage color.

    If you want to add more stages and change the sequence, click the Add icon button before or after the stage.

    If you want to delete the stage, click the Delete icon on the stage you wish to delete.

To configure workflow stage settings

You can configure workflow settings when adding a new workflow stage or when editing workflow stages after the initial creation.

  1. On the Workflow Details screen, navigate to the Stage Details tab of the workflow stage in which you would like to configure settings.

    Setting Name & Description

    Setting Field

    Setting Field Description

    Select required attributes for this stage:

    Once enabled, the selected attributes are required prior to entering the current workflow stage. You must select the attributes that need to be confirmed before advancing the stage. You also have the option to customize the title and guidance that appears on the modal to confirm the attributes.
    Note:

    This setting can be enabled and configured after a workflow has been published. However, this setting is not available on the first stage of a workflow.

    Attributes

    Required

    Select the attributes that will need to be confirmed before advancing to the next stage.

    Title

    Enter the name of the title that will appear on the modal to confirm the attributes.

    If you do not enter a title, the OneTrust platform will generate a generic title.

    Guidance

    Enter custom guidance that will help users when confirming attributes. This text will appear on the modal to confirm the attributes.

    If you do not enter a title, the OneTrust platform will generate a generic guidance.

    Set as approval stage:

    Once enabled, all approvers added will receive an email notification and have limited access to the current workflow stage.

    Auto Advance on Approval

    If enabled, the workflow will automatically move to the next stage once all approvers have approved.

    If disabled, the workflow will not automatically move to the next stage once all approvers have approved.

    Set Approval Requirements

    Select whether one or all approvers must give their approval.

    Approvers

    Required

    Select the active system users or user attributes that must approve the current workflow stage. You can add or remove approvers once a workflow is published.

    Allow comments when moving to another stage:

    Once enabled, you can add a comment to the workflow stage before moving to the next stage.

    Require comments to move to another stage

    If enabled, adding a comment is required before advancing to the next workflow stage.

    If disabled, comments are not required before advancing to the next workflow stage.

  2. Configure the workflow stage settings as needed.
  3. Click the Save button.

To edit the name of a workflow

  1. On the Privacy Notice Management menu, select Setup > Workflows. The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click the View button on the Privacy Notice Workflows tile.
  3. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to edit until the Context Menu icon appears.
  4. Click the Context Menu icon.
  5. On the Context menu, select Edit Workflow. The Edit Workflow Name modal appears.

  6. Reconfigure as needed.


  7. Click the Save button.

To publish a workflow

You can publish workflows that are in draft status.

  1. On the Privacy Notice Management menu, select Setup > Workflows. The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click the View button on the Privacy Notice Workflows tile.
  3. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to publish until the Context Menu icon appears.
  4. Click the Context Menu icon.
  5. On the Context menu, select Publish. The Publish Workflow modal appears.

  6. Click the Confirm button.

To clone a workflow

You can clone an existing draft or published workflow to copy all existing details.

  1. On the Privacy Notice Management menu, select Setup > Workflows. The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click the View button on the Privacy Notice Workflows tile.
  3. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to clone until the Context Menu icon appears.
  4. Click the Context Menu icon.
  5. On the Context menu, select Clone. The Clone Privacy Notice Workflow modal appears.

  6. Enter a workflow name.
  7. Click the Clone button.

To archive a workflow

You can archive custom, published workflows.

  1. On the Privacy Notice Management menu, select Setup > Workflows. The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click the View button on the Privacy Notice Workflows tile.
  3. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to archive until the Context Menu icon appears.
  4. Click the Context Menu icon.
  5. On the Context menu, select Archive. The Archive Workflow modal appears.

  6. Click the Confirm button. To unarchive an archived workflow, follow these steps and select Unarchive.

To delete a workflow

You can delete workflows that are in Draft or Archived status.

  1. On the Privacy Notice Management menu, select Setup > Workflows. The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click the View button on the Privacy Notice Workflows tile.
  3. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to delete until the Context Menu icon appears.
  4. Click the Context Menu icon.
  5. On the Context menu, select Delete. The Delete Workflow modal appears.

  6. Click the Confirm button.

To set a default workflow

You can set published workflows as the default workflow used for your privacy notices.

  1. On the Privacy Notice Management menu, select Setup > Workflows. The Workflows screen appears.

  2. Click the View button on the Privacy Notice Workflows tile.
  3. Hover over the row for the workflow you want to set as default until the Context Menu icon appears.
  4. Click the Context Menu icon.
  5. On the Context menu, select Set as Default. The Set as default modal appears.

  6. Click the Confirm button.