Updating User Records in Bulk
Site admins can update user records in bulk either from the Users screen or using the Update Users import template. Each method offers distinct capabilities suited to different update scenarios. Conducting bulk actions from the Users screen is ideal for making quick changes, such as modifying user statuses or updating assignments to roles, organizations, and user groups. For more comprehensive updates involving detailed user attributes or larger data sets, the Update Users import template provides additional flexibility and efficiency.
Method 1: Users screen
Site admins can update users' statuses and assignments to roles, organizations, and user groups using bulk actions available on the Users screen. This method is particularly useful for quick changes to multiple users.
To add roles to users in bulk
To remove roles from users in bulk
If a role was assigned through a user group, then removing that role will cause the user to lose all roles in that user group.
To deactivate users in bulk
When a user is deactivated in the OneTrust Platform, certain features and configurations may be impacted. Consider the following when deactivating a user:
-
Bulk updates follow the same user-management rules as individual updates. For example, a user can't be deactivated if they are assigned as an SSO notification recipient, and a user's primary role can't be removed unless another role remains in the default organization.
-
Aside from the Users list screen in Global Settings, you cannot filter any other lists in the platform by deactivated users. In other words, you will not be able to filter or report on a deactivated user’s previous assignments.
-
Before deactivating a user with many assignments, export a report as historical record as user assignments appear blank in reporting when a user is deactivated.
-
Review and update any automation rules that assign the deactivated user as a respondent or approver. These rules will not function correctly if they reference inactive users.
-
If the user you plan to deactivate was assigned as a default approver in any workflow, you will need to update that assignment to an active user before deactivating to ensure no interruption in workflows.
To activate users in bulk
Method 2: Update Users import template
Site Admins can update user records in bulk using the Update Users import template. This import template can be used to update users' basic attributes, assigned roles, and organizations. In addition, Site Admins can use this template to bulk delete users as well as resend Welcome Emails in bulk if needed.
Things to Know
The following information should be kept in mind if making the following changes to user records.
Updating a user's email address
Site Admins can configure whether a user is required to confirm changes to their email address using the Require Users to Confirm Email Address Change setting on the User Settings screen in Global Settings. In addition, if SSO is enabled, Site Admins will need to ensure that the new email address is updated in the IdP for the change to take immediate effect. It is important to update the email address correctly in both the IdP and the application to avoid user lockout and/or unwarranted access.
A user's email address cannot be updated in the following scenarios:
-
The user being edited is an External user.
-
The user being edited is an Invited user.
-
The user being edited has multiple accounts in the same application environment.
-
The user who is attempting to update the user's information is an External Site Admin. OneTrust Consultants are generally External users and cannot perform this action within your account.
-
The user who is attempting to update the user's information is not assigned to the root organization.
Deleting users
Internal Site Admins within the root organization can delete users from the application while selecting whether to maintain or anonymize the user’s first and last name for audit purposes.
A user cannot be deleted in the following scenarios
-
The user is the default approver of an organization
-
The user is a multi-tenant user
-
The user is a Site Admin at the root organization
-
The user is assigned as an SSO notification recipient
Deleting a user is a permanent action that cannot be undone. If you anticipate that the user will require access to their OneTrust account in the future, OneTrust recommends deactivating the user rather than deleting.
To update user records via bulk import
You can obtain a list of existing users in the application by exporting the User List on the Users screen. You can then use this export as reference when completing the Update Users import template.
For more information, see Exporting User Reports.
Available Actions and Use Cases
The Update Users import template offers the following actions that can be taken depending on your use case.
|
Action |
Use Case |
Required Fields |
|---|---|---|
|
Update |
Select this action to update basic user attributes, including the email address and the managing organization for the user. |
|
|
Add role/org |
Select this action to assign a new role or organization to a user. |
|
|
Update role/org |
Select this action to update an existing role or organization assigned to a user. |
|
|
Remove role/org |
Select this action to remove a role or organization assigned to a user. |
|
|
Activate |
Select this action to activate an inactive user. |
|
|
Deactivate |
Select this action to deactivate a user. |
|
|
Delete (Maintain User Info) |
Select this action to delete the user but keep the first and last name of the user when referencing the user's relationship to assigned objects and viewing the user on the Deleted Users list. |
|
|
Delete (Anonymize User Info) |
Select this action to delete the user but anonymize the user's name when referencing the user's relationship to assigned objects and viewing the user on the Deleted Users list. |
|
|
Resend Invite |
Select this action to resend Welcome Emails to users who have not logged in to the application. |
|
Update Users Template Reference
The following fields are available in the Update Users import template.
- Field
- Description
- Action
-
Select the action you are making for the user record. For more information, see Available Actions and Use Cases.
- Current Email Address
-
Enter the email address of the user that is currently in the application.
- New Email Address
-
Enter the new email address of the user that you want to update. The user will need to use this email address to log in to OneTrust and all OneTrust platform emails will be sent to this address.
- First Name
-
Enter the first name of the user.
- Last Name
-
Enter the last name of the user.
- Current Organization
-
Enter the name of the organization to which the user currently belongs.
The organization must already exist in OneTrust for the bulk upload to work correctly.
- Current Role
-
Select the role that the user to has.
- New Organization
-
Enter the name of the new organization to which the user currently belongs.
The organization must already exist in OneTrust for the bulk upload to work correctly.
- New Role
-
Select the new role you want the user to have.
- Managing Organization
-
Enter the default organization that the user lands on when they log in to the application. The organization entered here must be one of the organizations to which the user is already assigned.
- User Type
-
Enter whether the user is Internal or External.
- Expiration Date(Optional)
-
Enter the expiration date for an external user's access to OneTrust in the format YYYY-MM-DD.
Note:Only enter an expiration date for external users.
- Department
-
Enter the department to which the user belongs.
- Business Unit
-
Enter the business unit to which the user belongs.
- Employee Id
-
Enter the employee Id of the user.
- Manager
-
Enter the name of the user's manager.
- Division
-
Enter the division to which the user belongs.
- Job Title
-
Enter the job title of the user.
- Office Location
-
Enter the office location of the user.