Managing User Groups
You can create user groups to grant additional access to a set of users. Multiple roles across multiple organizations can be assigned to a user group. When a user is added to a user group that has additional roles that the user may not currently have, the user will inherit the roles associated with that user group in addition to their existing roles and permissions. The effective permissions of a user within an organization will then be the sum of all permissions granted through both manually assigned and inherited roles. When the user logs in, they will then be able to see their additional access granted by those new roles.
For more information on identifying your assigned roles and organizations, see Viewing Assigned Roles and Organizations.
To create a user group
You can create user groups and assign users to the user group using the following procedure. If you'd prefer to create the user group list first and assign users to the user groups at a later time, you can complete steps 1 - 4 and click the Create button in the Enter User Group Details section.
For Incident Management use cases, Admins should create groups with users from the same organization. When assigning an incident to a user group, ensure the group contains users from the organization assigned to the incident.
User Groups Screen Reference
- Field
- Description
- Group name
-
Name of the user group.
- Number of users
-
Number of users that were added to the user group.
- Description
-
Description of the user group.
- Created by
-
Name of the user that created the user group.
- Created date
-
Date and time on which the user group was created.
- Last modified by
-
Name of the user that last modified details for the user group.
- Last modified date
-
Date and time on which the user group was last modified.
To add users to a user group
To remove users from a user group
You can remove users from a user group on the User group details screen using the following procedure. Alternatively, you can remove a user from a user group on the User groups tab on the Users screen.
For more information on the Users screen, see Adding and Editing Users.
To add roles to a user group
To remove roles from a user group
You can remove roles from a user group on the User group details screen using the following procedure.
To edit user group details
You can modify the user group details as needed either directly from the User groups screen or on the Details tab on the User group details screen.
User Groups screen
User group details screen > Details tab
To delete a user group
To export the User Group List
You can export a list of all user groups in the platform. The User Group List is exported as a .csv file and includes all the user group details found on the User Groups screen.
To export the User Group Memberships
You can export a list of all user group members in the application. The User Group Memberships list is exported as a .csv file and includes a list of all members that are part of each user group in the platform. The list also includes the roles inherited by the users through the respective user groups.